Liturgical Seasons

The liturgical year, also known as Church year consist of liturgical seasons that determines when feasts days which includes celebration of Saints are to be observed and what parts of the scriptures are to be read either in an annual  cycle or in a cycle of several years.

Christ's saving work is celebrated in sacred memory by the church on fixed days throughout the course of the year. Each week on the day called the Lord's Day the Church commemorates the Lord's resurrection. Once a year at Easter the Church honours the resurrection of the Lord and his blessed passion with the utmost solemnity.

In fact through the yearly cycle the church unfolds the entire mystery of Christ and keeps the anniversaries of the saints. The General Norms for the Liturgical Year and Calendar (GNLY), is the Church document which introduces the Church's celebration of the liturgical year and how it is celebrated.